Printing from Firefox Flatpak

Hello,

I have the flatpak for Firefox installed and I get the printer dialog which pops up to select my printer. But when I click okay and try to print it just puts the rendered file in /home/username/.var/app/org.mozilla.firefox/cache/tmp/gtkprint{random} and doesn’t actually print it. I was wondering if anyone else has this problem, I was thinking it was a portal issue but that seems to be fine as the gtk pritner selection screen comes up and I can see my printers.

I would like to be able to print directly from my flatpak installed firefox instead of having to take two to three steps to get a print job.

Any suggestions on how to troubleshoot or fix this would be great. I’m pretty new to flatpaks.

Thanks,

Rich

Do you have xdg-desktop-portal and GTK or KDE implementation installed? I believe it’s portals job to make the printing happen.

@barthalion – I am having the identical problem printing from Firefox 79.0/Flatpak 1.0 as Rich, and accumulating …cache/tmp/gtkprint* files just as he described. Attempting to Print To File (PDF) also defaults to saving the PDF in the …cache/tmp/ folder as well (but that, at least, can be changed to, say, ~/Downloads.) I require the Firefox 79.0 flatpak because version 68.11 currently available in the Debian repos does not support Zoom for job interviews. (I am a COVID-19 casualty.)

Printing seems to proceed normally, except the printer never sees the jobs (“No active jobs.”) Removing the printer and re-detecting and adding it back to the devices list has no effect.

In answer to your question, yes, I have the following xdg support modules installed.

~$ sudo apt list xdg-* | grep installed
WARNING: apt does not have a stable CLI interface. Use with caution in scripts.
xdg-dbus-proxy/stable,now 0.1.1-1 amd64 [installed,automatic]
xdg-desktop-portal-gtk/stable,now 1.2.0-1 amd64 [installed,automatic]
xdg-desktop-portal/stable,now 1.2.0-1 amd64 [installed,automatic]